In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

There have been introduced a number of online courses for students over a decade. Most students have been taken advantages of these courses which offer schedule flexibility to study and to communicate with teachers, while others say they are not as efficient as traditional ones in terms of practical knowledge and a career prospect.

The Internet has changed the standard of education since it was invented, and it, as a result, has made way for the improvement of online courses attracting numerous students over ten years. The first reason why this method is applicable to students is they can study at their own pace. Once they have laptops and access to the network, these people can continue their study anytime and anywhere, such as at home and at work. Another advantage of this approach can be a communication with teachers in which students can ask questions and hand in their home assignments via emails. Online study, therefore, has significantly improved the education which brings substantial benefits to students.

In contrast, it is important that traditional education is not overlooked. There are several domains where students need in-person classes to master the science subjects, such as chemistry and astronomy, which are impossible to be learned without practice. The students, who are learning these subjects online, not only are limited with theoretical knowledge, but also primarily rely on simulations which hardly contribute to their practical skills. The quality of traditional classes, in addition, is highly valued by employers in contrast with that of online study. During recruitment, candidates are less likely to be selected if they have never attended universities.

In conclusion, online education is a great opportunity for those who prefer flexibility and convenience. On the other hand, it usually neither improve practical knowledge nor assists in career ladder.