Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times and place of the offence. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

Laws are mandatory and inevitable part of modern civilized country. So, opinions vary on should the laws be amendable with respect to different circumstances or it is better to have strictly bounded rules and guidelines to maintain healthy political and socio-economic relationships. I definitely stick to the second point of view, because laws must be stable and equal for everyone in order to avoid systematic abuse of them.

First and foremost, flexible laws will cause people’s misunderstanding what is right and what is wrong: some people might be probably even unknown that they are co-participants of the crime. As opposed to the first, dramatical share of perpetrators will get an opportunity to shun an acclaim and find excuses, what will sequentially increase the crime level. Furthermore, the implementation of bendable laws leads to the difficulties in maintaining honest judgments and providing justice towards people who really deserve it. For instance, it could be confirmed by the accident of a famous Russian actor Michael Efremov. Unfortunately, he was an opposer of current Russian government and now he is blamed in the crime he did not take part in, because of amendable laws. Secondly, amendable laws decrease the population fear of punishment, therefore frees the hands of criminals. The flexible laws become more vulnerable and, in the end, ineffective, in this way the country’s regulative sphere appears to be weak and inappropriate to work successfully.

But as opposed to the previous, laws flexibility definitely helps people, who did crimes, which are positive for society, or who committed them unintentionally find the loopholes in the rules and avoid punishment. Moreover, with the passage of the time some laws and guidelines become obsolete and unrelative for further performance, so they require to be transformed with regard to modern conditions.

To conclude, I believe, that flexible rules and regulations would instill and augment the crime level inevitably, harming all life aspects of citizens. The lack of fear of punishment will lead to the chaos arisen in the society. Flexibility in law deteriorates the overall performance of system and justice based on circumstances less productive. Notwithstanding, the update in law is needed as time changes.