The leaders of most organizations tend to be older people. However, some argue that younger people make better bosses.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is common to see bosses being elderly in most enterprises around the world. Some people prefer young leaders to be in the executive branch of an organization. In my opinion, running a business or a country requires a lot of skills from a boss.

Younger people are eager to learn and keep up with modern world so that there may be an assumption that they can be more beneficial leaders to organizations. In fact, older people living in this digitalized society may not know well about all the technology available to make businesses or other governmental bodies successful in functioning. So, younger generations who were born during the internet age are more likely to have better computer skills than their elder counterparts. Added to this is a hunger towards innovations with risks. Leaders of 50 or more years are generally afraid of taking risks because they know how hard it is to control and build such a big organization. However, youth probably do not think about all aspects when making decisions which is one of the most important skills that a leader should possess.

There are valid reasons for why younger leaders cannot be given permission to control the whole organization. Firstly, they lack experience. To be more specific, leaders are defined as those who acquired good knowledge for decades beginning from scratch. So younger individuals should have a career leader to be a boss in the long run. Moreover, though older individuals working as leaders in companies are full of experience, they know how to communicate with employees, make urgent decisions if possible, care not only for themselves but also for the entire company, and teach inexperienced individuals to be leaders. Although they are slow on the intake, they can guarantee easy solutions to problems with their problem-solving skills that are highly valued in today’s work environment.

In conclusion, I believe that young generation has a lot to learn about leadership. Meanwhile, let older bosses do what they are doing.