Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In general, patriotism is a matter of loyalty of one to a country. Some may think that it can be the main source of wars around the world while others believe that corrupt politicians and wars will be limited with it. In my view, patriotism is a must because it gives freedom and opportunities.

There is a school of thought believing that patriotic individuals cause global wars. It is primarily connected to history of one nation over another. Logically, if one country was under colony of another for several hundreds of years, after independence they would claim that the country is theirs. It is true that people having their freedom are more likely to start wars in order to maintain their independence and status as a country. And when colonists try to get all things back from a free state, war will be obvious. Moreover, they have rights to save their nation because no giant state will take care of local people and traditions, instead they aim at destroying what the country has. Therefore, patriots can start battles so as to save their right to live without limitation.

However, patriotism may give a spark to start a war to some degree, it plays an important role in building a powerful country. As patriotic acts depend on loyal actions, many people will try to be righteous and run the government with quality knowledge. It is common to see this situation happening with Russia which is a country with nuclear weapons. These weapons can only be created with loyal people who seek knowledge to save their country from outer dangers. And now, other countries are afraid of attacking Russia since they know it will be a mistake to do so. Russia does not need to combat with other nations for if there is real danger, it can be stopped through a click of a button.

In conclusion, although patriotism may ignite wars, it protects the whole country with right policy.