Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English. Should we try to ensure the survival of local l

Nowadays, English has become a prominent language in the world, most of the countries are adopting it as their business language. However, because of this people are rarely using their native languages. From my point of view, learning English certainly is an advantage, but countries must take measures to save their national languages. This essay will elaborate on the facts to support the stated view.

For instance, with the globalization, English has become a global language, countless companies are opening their headquarters in Non-English speaking countries, hence it is imperative for local people to be proficient in the language so they can secure highly paid jobs in these companies. In addition, most of the powerful nations such as the United State, United Kingdom, and Canada are English speaking countries, to trade and compete with them it is essential to learn English. Also, people are migrating to other countries in search of better job opportunities and a good quality of life. Hence, to survive there and make a living, people are paying more attention to English. Moreover, people who can speak English, it is easier for them to communicate with people of other cultures, thus it promotes cultural awareness and congeniality among them.

However, due to emphasis on learning English, schools, and colleges are neglecting local and regional languages, because of this local history and culture is in danger. As a result, people are not able to understand and decipher the historical books and manuscripts written in local languages. Also, it is noticeable, children these days speak English instead of their mother tongue, because of this upcoming generation will not be familiar with their mother tongue and slowly the languages are dying out. With the disappearing of the local language, countries are losing their history and cultural values. Hence to preserve and protect local language the government authorities should invent schemes and policies, for example in India, people are encouraged to use Hindi as the official language.

To recapitulate, even though English is a universal language, more people are fascinated with it due to its culture and sophistication, the local languages should be retained to enforce diversity in the world. By creating a balance, people can learn English and also can relate to their local culture.