Some people think that genetically modified (GM) crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Modern science has made it possible to alter the genetics of our produces, in order to provide vegetables and grains in abundance. However, it has also been observed that altered food had side effects as well. This essay will examine the positive and negative side of this development.

On the pros side, the production of crops has seen significant growth, with the help of genetically modified seeds provided to the farmers by the biotech industry. For instance, the production of corn, soybean, potato, and pineapple has increased drastically by promoting biotech crops. Furthermore, farmers are also enjoying a better economy and environmental growth, they are able to cut down on the usage of pesticides and herbicides. Also, these crops are cheaper than naturally grown crops, thus people can easily afford them, hence, they prefer to buy inorganic food more often.

On the cons side, these genetically modified food are harming consumers immensely. For example, an enormous amount of synthetic hormones are used for creating inorganic food, which is dangerous for the human body, these hormones do not get absorbed by the human body neither they flush out, hence they may cause lethal diseases such as cancer which is incurable. In addition to this, because of the chemicals used in growing biotech vegetables and food items, obesity is more prevalent among adults and children nowadays, adding these to the diet may hamper the growth of children as well. Moreover, compared to organic produces these produces lack in nutrition noticeably.

In conclusion, even though food production has expanded and food is easily available on inexpensive prices, however in my opinion, the quality has been decreased and consuming these crops has more demerits than the merits.