Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Over the half century, there are unprecedented increase on learning English and its value in the whole world. It is said that learning this language is much more crucial than local ones in most of the countries, therefore local languages are at risk of dying out simply because neglect This essay will first suggest that learning English might be need for everyone because of some convenience and it will then state that we must try to insure the continuation of local languages and how can we do this.

To begin with, in the modern world, many people often travel to foreign countries to pursue higher studies or a better job opportunity, so they need communicate clearly and coherently. This is most important thing of learning English, because this language is spoken in abundant number of countries as a first or second language, such as Australia and Poland. So they need a good command of English, there is no satisfactory way to achieve proficiency in English than to learn it at school, like any other subjects. In addition, another advantage of learning English is that it opens up new job avenues. For instance, a person can take up the job of translator or an English teacher.

Secondly, most of the people don’t neglect to their own country’s language because it may be the advantages of learning English above indicated. But we must try to ensure the survival of local languages because of some risks look like death of languages that leads to dying out of the corresponding cultures of these countries. There are many ways to prevent the disappearing of local languages, but more efficient ways are that parents and the elders should teach young people about the rich history and the government should place greater value in teaching and make them compulsory in schools and colleges.

In conclusion, I think that learning English is no doubt highly important in today’s world, but special care should be taken for the survival of local languages as well.