Life expectancy is increasing. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Improving medical care and enough food consumption boost the number of elderly people globally, and this trend might be beneficial to cut crime rates. However, the financial burden both families and states will increase much.

Admittedly, the successful medical invention and genetic engineering make people living longer. When vaccines and antibiotics for lethal diseases have been found, the treatment for patients will be efficient and immune system provides complete protection so that the mortality rate is fewer than before. When this condition is supported by the availability of adequate nutrition from animals and plants thanks to scientists, people can meet a healthy diet easily the main reason for improving cell age. For example, hundreds of people have been killed by smallpox diseases as the virus is very replicable and contagious, but after a particular drug is found, the germ not only can be diminished immediately but also such treatment prevent patients from reinfection. Therefore, the proportion of elderly people will outnumber young people around the world.

The need for special medical treatment and day-to-day support increase the state and family expenditure. However, the high proportion of older people makes the community safer as they give to share moral value and not disturbing others by doing criminals, so the government can cut the money allocated in law enforcement. Nevertheless, the contribution of younger people cannot be underestimated in terms of nations’ development, and this work is impossible tackled by those who experience aging as people can only work efficiently until around 50 years old. For example, the establishment of the fastest train to deal with crowded population in the cities is employed by the majority of young people aged from 30 to 45, and this invention succeeds to reduce the use of fuel, in fact, less money spent by commuters and not using other transportation. This is one of the discoveries that modernize human life and increase well-being.