Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Language barrier is considered to be one of the prevalent issues that poses anxiousness to many immigrants. Although I admit that this potentially results in significant social problems, with the help of technology, little do those without foreign language face practical ones.

Without the acquisition of the language of the country an immigrant is living, encountering social implications is known to be inevitable. First and foremost, this makes immigrants become incompetent of communicating which results in involving in conversations with locals nearly impossible. As a result, these people often find looking for more acquaintances and broadening their relationship a challenge. Besides, not knowing a language is probable to the misunderstanding between the locals and the foreigner which perhaps, consequently triggers conflicts between both parties. Furthermore, discrimination is another typical issue that may occur to immigrants who do not speak the regional language.

On the other hand, immigrants can still have a convenient life despite a significant number of obstacles an immigrant who does not speak the local language faces. It is mainly because practical problems can be minimised with the help of technology. Its powerful features allow foreigners to obtain access to their necessities without engaging in any verbal interactions. To illustrate, they can still look up for directions from one place to another with the help of the electronic map displayed on the screens of their phones. Also, with the help of translating apps that can be easily downloaded conversations can be conveyed effectively via texts as translations can be made in between. Besides, purchasing goods is not a big trouble for foreigners as orders can be placed online which does not require any language skills to do so.

In summary, even with the presence of technology, immigrants still, cannot run away from unanticipated problems regarding language difference. Hence, I believe that the most effective way to migrate to another nation is to acquire their language before living there.