Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems

Some people argue that language barrier is one the biggest challenge that people living abroad have to deal with. While I agree that this could lead to some serious social problems in many countries but in recent years with the development of technology, these issues have become less serious.

On the one hand, the main reason that having to speak a foreign language can cause social problems is misunderstanding between people in different cultures. As a prevalent example in my country, my grandparents lived in Viet Nam 50 years ago had to migrate to England to protect themselves because of the war with other countries. He once noticed that it is very difficult to get a job and integrate with a new society when he did not know just a little about English.

However, nowadays, technology has played an important role in the decrease of language barrier among people all around the world. For instance, almost people who know about technology have a smartphone with Google map to find the direction and location rather than asking locals. Additionally, leading corporations are also developing AI translator which could help users to understand other language immediately. Doing a grocery or buying food from a menu written in foreign languages is no longer an issue and thanks to these developments.

In conclusion, I approve the notion that not knowing the local language when you live in another country is sometimes troublesome, bit it could be solve a part with technology