Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Not being able to communicate in the local language where one resides can have a serious impact on one’s professional and personal life. So, I agree with the author’s opinion for the following reasons.

Communication is an important aspect in our everyday life and this becomes difficult when one stays in a foreign country without being able to speak the native language. In other words, they can cause practical problems. For instance, imagine an American living in Japan, where most of the people converse only in Japanese. He/she would definitely have a hard time for the tiniest thing possible, such as asking for directions. Situation might get more complicated in the workplace where communication is the key to success. That is why it is crucial to at least know the basics of the language before travelling to a foreign country.

Further, in such conditions having a personal or social life might just be a dream for some people. To maintain a social life one needs to able to express emotions and feelings which does not seem to be possible when one can barely get through the day without speaking the indigenous language. Let us take the example of the American who learns the rudimentary Japanese words to get by the day and the sentences needed to help him/her at workplace. Now these can’t be applied when he/she tries to make friends. It might be difficult to make a connection and have someone to share your experiences. However, if one tries hard enough to learn the local slang and jargons things might turn positive.

To conclude, I strongly believe that being able to communicate in the native language definitely has its perks and supports a person in their personal and professional life.