All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. if companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary

Consultants are a person or an organization that provides professional advice to the requested company. Consultants just give their opinion to the enterprise, whether or not to implement them is completely up to the enterprise. Now coming to the statement given, I completely agree with the first part of the statement but not with the latter.

Firstly, consultants provide their professional opinion on the way a company is currently functioning and how it can be made better. A detailed report will be submitted by the consultancy, which lays out all the methods and advices through which desired profits can be achieved.

If the companies decide not to hire a consultant and to listen to their employees, they might not get the desired results. Different employees may have different opinions on increasing the efficiencies on the company and no-one has time to listen to each and every employee. These employees are not professional consultants and have been working in the company for a long time which might lead to personal bias while submitting a report to the officials.

Let’s take an example to prove this point. A bakery has been set up by a group of 5 people in a small town. It has been doing fine given the scale in which they are operating. Slowly the number of employees working there increased to thirty and now they decided to expand to a nearby city. Everyone started giving their opinions on how to achieve this. None of their ideas had any strong evidence to support their claim. Then the founders decided to hire a consultant, who took his time to analyze the market value of the bakery in this town and what would the result be if they set up shop in the city. At last the consultant advised against expanding to the city as that might lead to bankruptcy rather they could open shop in another town before moving to city. The bakery decided to go through with this plan as this was provided with proper facts and figures.

Thus, in light of the above presented statements and examples one can say that to hire a consultant is one of the best decision a company can take to make it operate more efficiently.