Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A human being to function efficiently, a proper balance of physical and mental strength needs to be achieved. This statement can be applied to any field and sports is no exception. In order to be successful in sports, one needs to be physically and mentally strong.

The fundamental requirement of any sports person is that he/she needs to physically fit. Depending on the participation in the sports activities, the extent of their physical strength might vary. For instance, a boxer's physical strength can not be compared to that of a professional golf player. Boxer would have to take down his/her opponent and to achieve this, he/she must be stronger than the opponent. On the other hand, in golf one doesn't have an opponent to tackle, just a golf ball to be sent to a small pit. So, the point is that no matter how small a sport might seem it definitely needs a person to be physically strong.

A sports person has to be mentally strong as well. Let's take the above example, in case of the boxer, if one doesn't have plan of attack/defend and rather just went in believing in one's physical strength, then one would definitely end up in a hospital. The same applies to golf as well, sure a golf player is physically capable of hitting the ball to an extremely large distance, but this doesn't entirely ensure that it will fall in the hole. One needs to plan, analyze the golf course and then proceed with the play. Thus, mental strength does play an important role in the career of sports person.

To conclude, as presented in the above two paragraphs, it is safe to say that physical and mental strength is vital for success in sports.