However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments.

Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Some people tend to believe that experimenting on other species is bad and such activities should be banned while a few others argue that such experiments are crucial for scientific advancements. This essay will discuss that experimentations on animals is not justified and possible alternatives for the same.

To begin with, conducting research and performing various trials on animals can be regarded as animal cruelty. Species captured for research and development are taken away from their natural habitat and bred in captivity, such actions disturb the ecological balance of the environment. Moreover, experiments tend to have several negative effects on animals resulting in their death. For instance, the cosmetic industry tests their products on various domestic animals such as dogs and cats. While it is a known fact that dogs are allergic to most of the substances used in cosmetics still the trials are never banned or regulated. Thus, scientific discoveries or advancements achieved through cruelty against animals are not worth the praise.

Further, in the contemporary world there are many solutions that can serve as an alternative to animal testing. Rather than experimenting on animals, many large research and development organizations are opting for virtual testing, in other words using software advancements in the field of science. Developing an application which can run the required experiments by gathering the DNA of humans and the effects it can when exposed to tests has been achieved in few countries. Government can also regulate or impose strict laws on experimenting on animals; doing so if no might reduce the number of tests on them.

To conclude, no matter the outcome, animal cruelty can never be justified. Scientists can opt for other alternatives to make their discoveries.