In the past few years, Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in both enrollments and admissions applications. The reason can be discovered from our students, who most often cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as their chief sources of dissatisfaction with Fern Valley. Therefore, in order to increase the number of students attending our university, and hence to regain our position as the most prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area, it is necessary to initiate a fund-raising campaign among the alumni that will enable us to expand the range of subjects we teach and to increase the size of our library facilities

The argument is initiated with the claim that fund raising campaign among the alumni would enable Fern Valley University to regain its position as the most prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area. To arrive at this conclusion the argument is presented with various assumptions and facts. On closer scrutiny one can see various weak links in the argument that stands out as logical flaws. Each of these flaws has been discussed in the succeeding paragraphs.

A reason has been mentioned in the argument that poor teaching and inadequate library resources, has been a major complaint by the students studying in the university but to assume that this is the only reason for the university suffering from a decline in both enrollments and admission applications is major blunder on account the administrative department. There might be a quite a few reasons for reduced number of enrollments like the quality education, job prospects after graduation and the fee structure of the college. Any of these reasons has not been mentioned in the argument.

The second unwarranted assumption made in the argument is that initiating a fund raising campaign among alumni would help regain the position of the university. Nowhere in the argument it states that the university doesn't have enough money to provide the required resources and needs funding. Even after organizing the campaign it doesn't assure that the alumni attending would donate enough money needed to pump up the resources.

The argument concludes that by expanding the range of subjects they teach and increasing their library facilities will attract more enrollments. Just by increasing the resources provided, the university can't become the prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area. This assumption has no strong evidence to support its claim.

Therefore, the argument presented lacks any serious support and fails to consider the logical flaws in its assumptions. It is safe to say that the administrative department of Fern Valley department needs and upgrade and hire professionals to come up with better ideas to regain its former reputation.