Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The trend of moving abroad for work or study related purposes are increasing tremendously these days. Some people opine that a person will face social and practical problems in a country where they have to speak a foreign language. This essay will discuss that why the person could face problems due to linguistic barriers but why the technological advances and rules can decrease the problems to a great extent.

To begin with, each country around the world has its own language that increases the complexity for foreigners living in that country. The day to day activities are engaged in a host country's native language and it gets nearly impossible to socialize in there without having good command on their language. The racists can be found anywhere and not having a command on their language can give them a feeling of disrespect that can increase the chances of violence. Moreover, the individual can face a difficulty in finding a job because most of the companies in that country give preference who has a good command over their tongue. For instance, my cousin faced a big trouble while finding an occupation in Germany because of linguistic barrier. Therefore, it is mandatory to learn the language of the country in which someone is intended to move to.

On the other hand, a lot of things have been done in the recent decades in order to provide convenience for the foreigners. Most of the countries these days require the foreigners to give their language test to prove their language ability prior travelling to that country. Most of the time they offer online classes to individuals. For instance, in order to work or study in UK, the person has to show their command on English through IELTS test. In addition, a large number of apps are introduced in the market that can convert the speech to the intended language. Hence, the efforts done recently has decreased the language complexity for most of the people in the overseas countries.

In conclusion, most of the people travel abroad to seek fortune. This essay discussed that why the individual can face language barriers while abroad but why the recent efforts can decrease it to some extent. In my opinion, I partially agree with the above statement that if a person travels to foreign country without having a good command of their native language can face certain difficulties but due to the recent efforts the hurdle has been reduced to great extent.