Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

To what extent the children should be allowed to make decisions about their own choices is a controversial issue. Some people opine that giving too much freedom to children about making their own choices will make him ending up being a selfish member of society while others claim that they should have to be allowed to a certain extent to make their decisions. This essay will discuss that why limiting the children to make their own preferences is good but why it is indispensable for the parents to give them freedom to some extent to decide on their own life matters.

To begin with, most of the children in the world ends up being a selfish and rude due to fact that they have been too liberal to make their own decisions. Parents fulfill their every wish and desire and due to this they develop a feeling of superiority over other members of a family and ends up being careless and irresponsible. For instance, my nephew wants each and everything his sister possess without caring a little bit about her. Thus, giving them too much open can affect their character that will eliminate the best quality from his personality.

However, despite the negative effect of freedom to make their own choices on their character, still they should not be prohibited to make decisions on every life matter. Too much restriction can make the child dependent on their parents for everything that can affect the child decision making ability that is crucial for getting successful in the future. Moreover, sometimes the children know better to decide on something than their parents and in that case refraining children can make the situation worse. For example, a friend of mine who knew in what major getting admission could be best for him but due to the convincing of parents he ended up getting admission in engineering which led to the destruction of his career. Therefore, spoon-feeding children and limiting their choices can negatively affect the decision-making skill and career.

In conclusion, there has been quite an arguments about how much liberty should be given to children making their own decisions about life matters. This essay discussed that why too much liberty can be harmful for their future prospects but why free will of making preferences to some extent is absolute necessary for the success and development of a child. In my opinion, in the early ages most of the children choices should be made by parents but once they get mature the decision making ability should be handed over to their children.