Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems

In life, sometimes we have to live in a country which requires us to speak nonnative language. Some people believe that this situation will cause problems in both social and practical matters. I completely agree with this view because of several reasons.

Firstly, having to speak in foreign language can cause social problem because language serves as a communication bridge between people. All communications are done using a language, whether it is just a short conversation or long conversation. Thus, if someone is unable to speak language which is mainly used by most people, he will most likely to be isolated from any social group. For instance, a guy from United States just moved to Japan, where most people there are speaking in Japanese. Because he does not really understand Japanese, he then finds difficulty in blending with people in his neighborhood and working place.

Next, having to communicate in nonnative language can cause practical problem because language is inseparable from doing any daily activity. All daily activities, from riding public transportation to ordering food menu require understanding of foreign language. Then if someone does not master the language which is mostly used in a country, he will experience practical problem where his process of doing daily activities are hampered. For example, a woman from United Kingdom just migrated to Taiwan, where Mandarin Chinese becomes a language which is mainly used in that country. Almost all things, including food menu, is written in Mandarin Chinese. Because she does not really understand Mandarin Chinese, she then finds difficulty in ordering food menu.

In conclusion, having to speak in nonnative language can cause both social and practical problems because language serves as a communication bridge between people and language is inseparable from doing any daily activity.