Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you disagree or agree?

Nowadays there are many countries in the world, which leads to diversity in languages. Many people believe it would be a golden opportunity for them to cultivate their language skills supposed that they lived in a country using a second language whilst I completely agree with those who reckon it is disadvantageous in many aspects of life. This essay will analyze both views.

Turning to the agreed view. For those people who are at an early age, they can learn and apply new languages more effectively than other aged groups. This results in the ability that allows them to adapt quickly to the new society because they can either manage to accomplish a lot of tasks or communicate skillfully among their relationships. In addition, it is a perfect chance for them to explore various cultural identities in multicultural societies and enjoy life more. Hence, they are less unlikely to have mental or physical problems.

But the agreed opinions are outweighed by the opponents for many reasons. If the learners are in middle age or old age, they will probably struggle with acquiring new knowledge about the second languages. As a result, it reduces the efficiency in communicating, others especially bosses will get the misunderstanding for their poor performance. This can make them become fired and then even can be a bona fide heavy depression in many aspects if it keeps within long times. Namely, my close friend who lived abroad on his own for a years ago. When he first came to that country, he really got panic and completely shocked by the new culture and language. He had to cope with significant problems in reality. However, he then got back his confidence out of my advice and encouragement.

In summary, settling in a country that people have to speak a foreign language is both advantageous and detrimental in many ways. It is a big chance for the future of those who are able to use that language professionally, otherwise, it is a big challenge for weak language users.