Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people consider moving to a nation where they have to communicate in a different language from their mother tongue always brings many social and practical issues. I totally accord with such opinion. I believe that although it is challenging, the advantages of living in a foreign country and speaking a foreign language totally outweigh the drawbacks.

First of all, I concede that language barriers may provoke social troubles for people working and living abroad. If someone does not master the native language, he or she will be hampered from communicating with others and performing daily activities, such as buying groceries or taking instructions at work. Besides, language is a part of tradition and culture, not being able to speak the native language makes the immigrants feel hesitated and isolated from their surroundings and causes practical problems such as misunderstanding in doing bank transactions, missing the way to desired places, and etc.,. As a result, misunderstanding culture may lead to misleading behaviors and practical damage.

However, I strongly contend that most of those problems are not so thorny and can be overcome easily. While some people might claim that learning a new language is a time-consuming process, I would argue that the issue can be solved at its roots just by mastering the language, and immersing yourself in the environment of that language is considered the best way to learn that language. The most salient example of this is that students who study abroad can master the foreign language much faster than those who learn that language in their motherland. Consequently, the better their language skills they get, the fewer difficulties they have. Moreover, living in other nations also gives us opportunities to make new friends, learn about other countries' cultures or even find our own happiness.

To conclude, regarding the opinions which I listed, I totally believe that working and living abroad does not lead to serious issues as some people consider, it even brings more benefits than disadvantages.