Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, there has been a strong debate on whether youngsters should adopt their traditional patterns. However, a number of people refute this and consider that youth should have rights and their own visions to make their decisions. The following passages would discuss both views before delivering my perspective.

Initially, it is undeniable that social culture plays an important role in human beings' development, which explains why young people should uphold social norms continuously. A number of valuable traditional methods, experiences of the seniors went through a host of difficulties and barriers to accumulate meaningful instructions, then have been passed from generation to generation in numerous ways. Thanks to this, youngsters nowadays could avoid making the same mistakes as their parents or elderly and might have more proper behaviours in their lives. For example, one of the first and foremost lessons that nearly all Vietnamese children have been taught since they were at a young age is to show their gratitude and respect to ancestors or other family members. Gradually, this practice forms generations with a considerable appreciation to seniors.

On the other hand, there are some concerns that it would do wonders for youth to make decisions about what they desire. It is believed that young people might have more opportunities to develop their innate talents, discover new things if they are not being forced to strict social standards. For instance, instead of being allowed to approach national education, a number of girls living in countryside areas have been made to obey their parents and get married at a young age. Besides, this is also being considered to be against the national law, as well as preventing girls from being successful and independent.

In conclusion, following traditional social norms brings numerous advantages in human beings’ development. However, I firmly believe that the young should be selective in choosing the lifestyle they want to live by instead of being blind imitating traditions.