Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that living in a foreign country may cause both social and practical problems. However, I partially agree with this statement.

I agree in a sense that, allocating to a new country, leaving behind a life once lived, might cause social and practical problems. Because, First, learning a new language can be difficult for most people, which results in feeling left-out in places like public gatherings, where the mother tongue is usually spoken. Second, as an outsider, one may be unaware of the go-to spots, for example, where to get books on budget. Finally, Being homesick becomes second nature for most people, thus adding more complications to an already hard step.

However, I do disagree to some extent, because most of these serious problems can be dealt with in a proper manner, if the person is willing. Making new friends is a great way of learning the language as well as getting all the information and the insights of that particular area.If, for some reason, an individual is unable to make new friends, they can still make use of the internet, where they have many different applications, like Translator, TripAdvisor and so on. Furthermore, traveling back home regularly, bringing back some food and items that remind you of home, is an ideal way of dealing with the drawbacks of moving to a new country.

In conclusion, going to live abroad is a brave step to take,a lot of difficulties will be faced, particularly in a country where you do not speak the local language, but every problem has a solution, all these problems can be tackled as long as the person is able. the best thing to do is to make new friends.