Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Have you ever suffered from confusion when you were traveling in a foreign country, and you couldn't clearly understand others? It is a common experience, not to mention living in a foreign nation. Therefore, someone raised the idea that language barrier could cause both social and practical problems and I am agree with this view.

No matter how excellent your language skill are, you will come across a culture shock when you first come in a foreign country, and sometimes, it even contributes to serious social issues. Since language is a microcosm of national culture, different word has its own meaning in different cultural background. For instance, the word “china” could be a container in English, however it also has a insulting meaning in China. It isn't hard to find that using those with multi-layer and religious meaning incorrectly would lead to misunderstanding and even social conflicts.

On the other hand, when you have a poor English, language barrier would be an obstacle in your daily life. Undoubtedly, everyone has to communicate with others wherever you live. When you are shopping, working or just playing computer games, you may buy a wrong commodity or stray, because you can't read and express yourself. What's more, it will also negatively influence your interpersonal ability. When you are attending a social event, you could only sit in a sofa, while others are chatting with laugh, which makes you feel lonely and isolated.

In conclusion, our personalities are shaped by our native culture, so obviously we have to face numerous inevitable problems when we live a place, using a foreign language. Only understanding deeply and improving language skill could tackle this issue, which we can not deny.