Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

Globalization and migration of the people worldwide have created a situation where people have to learn multiple languages to live in a foreign country. Many individuals believe that to survive in a nation where communication is compulsorily in their local tongue can pose some social and practical problems. I largely agree with the statement and this essay will further corroborate my stance.

There is a gamete of reasons behind experiencing troubles with language while living abroad. The foremost one is facing challenges in day-to-day life. Knowing vernacular language is an essential key for livelihood in any nation. For Instance, every person staying in a foreign country has to communicate in local language for their daily work, whether it could be shopping grocery or taking a taxi to reach somewhere. If one is not familiar with a particular language it could create a lot of the problems in daily life.

Moreover, most of the culture and tradition can be easily understood by awareness of their specific tongue. The difficulty could be faced by a person in getting local social values and customaries with little understanding of language. One can respect and follow surrounding peoples easily through proper language without any misinterpretation. Therefore, for better social integrity ability to use local language is incumbent.

On the contrary, effective language learning can be achieved by giving the time in that foreign language’s atmosphere. Nowadays, many peoples are living abroad with their families who are having minimal understanding of that foreign language still tackles the challenges put forwarded by language in routine. Many Indians, for example, are enjoying social and personal life in the USA without sufficient knowledge of English. Hence, language is not a bar for some people.

To conclude, although there are some examples of people surviving better without knowledge of foreign tongue, I largely believe that unfamiliarity with vernacular language could be more challenging and creates social as well as practical problems in that nation.