Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is perceived by many that living in a nation where you have to use a language which is not your mother tongue to communicate with local people can cause some serious social issues, along with practical troubles. Personally, I partly agree with the opinion.

Hardly can anyone deny that more and more people live in other countries for a lot of purposes such as working, studying and so on. Therefore, they need to use the second language to talk to citizens there. With regard to the positiveness of the issue, there are two main benefits which need to be concerned. The first one is that using the foreign language can help you improve your social relationship with local people. Indeed, it is easier for you to make friend with native speakers when you use their own language. As a result, they can share more information about their country or even about themselves with you. For example, an international student living in a European country can have more native friends there if she can speak English fluently and this is the best way for her to improve her knowledge about the nation. The other point needs to be considered is that speaking foreign language can bring more opportunities for you to find a job. It is obviously that employers tend to hire people who can speak their language because they want their employees understand their requirements. This will lead to the fact that people who can use native language will have more chances to get jobs, compared to the people who cannot speak the language.

Aside from aforementioned merits, using a language which is not your the first one can cause some problems. One of these issues is that you may make local people misunderstand if you use words incorrectly. Especially, if what you say relates to their culture, it can cause some serious issues in this context. Secondly, language sometimes becomes a big fence in your daily life. Indeed, even you can speak their language very well, there will be some cases which are out of your control. Let imagine that you talk to a taxi driver on phone to tell him where he can pick you up and then he drive to a wrong place because he is not familiar to your accent and misunderstands.

In conclusion, although communicating by using a foreign language when people live in another country can cause some serious problems, I have a belief that it can bring many benefits due to aforementioned analysis.