living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? give reasons for your answer and include any examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been stated that people live in abroad and must communicate in that country’s language other than their mother tongue could face not only serious social problems but also practical ones. In my opinion, before mentioned problems affect foreigners.

Living in a foreign country could cause serious problems. The most important one is xenophobia that local people tend to see foreigners as enemies. For instance, during the Second World War, there was a common hate to Jewish even though they speak in german and live with them that led to a massacre of Jewish people by Germans. The second issue that the governments are inclined to treat migrants as minority which would cause inequalities even if they work and live in same conditions with their citizens. That could ease the way for local people to treat foreigners in an insulting way.

Another aspect that could lead is practical issues. First and foremost, foreigners could have some difficulties in with fully understanding the local language such as they would not be familiar with the idiomatic expressions. Due to the fact that most of the foreign people live a hard time to adapt a counrtry’s language which construct the base layer of that country’s culture. In addition to that, they could find it hard to express themselves in fully as they do with their mother tongue in a way that they could feel themselves shy to communicate with local people in daily life basis.

In conclusion, living in a foreign country could cause both important social and practical problems that should be handled with properly.