Living in large cities today poses many problems for people.

What are these problems? Should governments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

Mulling over the question on the disadvantages on the urban lifestyle, the scope of reasons arises. Some people even stand that taking into account all the problems it is necessary to stimulate the population to move from megapolises.

Firstly, cities are believed to be overcrowded, so this causes the inconvenience in the usage of infrastructure. For instance, citizens got used to the traffic jams both with personal cars or public transport facilities. Getting over this problem has nothing in common with the construction of new highways, because even the passengers in the subway suffer at rush hours. So, one of the effective ways to deal with it is to decrease the number of both drivers and passengers or to put the restrictions on the usage of transport inside the city. Such measures were already forced in several European countries.

The second problem that is usually mentioned about cities is different types of pollution, such as air pollution or high level of noise. Being stuck in the frenzy and chaos life, most of the population prefers to spend their weekends at the outing spaces. The local authorities try not to underestimate these needs, constructing recreational areas, for example, such huge city as Moscow pay great attention to the ‘green’ surface with such parks as Meshersky or Zaryadye. Such attempts definitely improve the quality of life conditions but cannot deal with the main problem, so more and more people decide to move away to the healthier conditions.

On the other hand, the trend to move from the towns to the cities was associated with unemployment, while the main advantage of the megapolis is the facilities both labor and educational. To make small towns and villages more attractive governments try to crate workplaces. Some of nearly ghost towns have recently been transformed into touristic locations, that also attracted people who are busy in recreational business.

To sum up, the opportunities given by a megapolis are nearly neutralized by the problems that citizens face every day. The level of stress caused by overpopulation and pollution reduces the quality of life. Recently the authorities have to find effective decisions, which might include the measures to encourage the migration to smaller towns.