The internet means that people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays when almost everyone has an access to the internet, we can easily travel all over the world to research the patterns of other people’s lives. But in my opinion, the online traveling keeps us distant from truly life in different countries.

The argument against this is that cartain number of people, espesialy younger ones, can use the internet in order to learn the language, meet new people and do the local sightseeing via Skype, for example. There are a lot of programs that allow people to enter every museum and cross every street, when you are actually sitting at home. For instance, Art Basel is a well-established modern art gallery that broadcast every online event. Those started in the middle 80-s and started to spread with the rise of internet penetration. Another example of how the internet enchance the chances to deeply understand other people is to learn their language.

Nonetheless, if you want to understand how people live in different countries, it is definitely not enough to travel online due to the tremendous loss of cultural uniquenesses. Many researches shows that there is a strict correlation between physical presence and effectiveness of studying. Those results could be extrapolated to the problem of realizing the behavior of people from different countries. Ofline traveling allows you to be not only a passive viewer, but also an active participants in local’s lives. For instance, you can live in foreign family and research the ways of communication, solving problems and other processes.

Another reason why the internet is not the solution for all is that there are sertain groups of people who can barely use internet, for example old people.

To sum up, I solely belive that internet traveling is a appealing attept to realize some facts about foreign people, but only ofline traveling can bring the full picture of behavioral patterns in foreign countries.