Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Much attention has been drawn to whether financial funding should be spent on library maintenance for the public due to the fact that function of library is substituted by high-tech devices. This essay, however, believes that maintaining public libraries is a rational course of action. Not only is library membership more affordable than owning a piece of technological equipment for some people, but some individuals opt for the quiet and academic atmosphere of libraries.

In terms of benefits, libraries offer low-cost option for the community. Firstly, if a person only pays five dollars for the registration fee instead of five hundred dollars for a typical smartphone as well as laptop, he can save his money. For instance, when college students start a semester, using the campus library can eliminate the need for new books, let alone some expensive items such as iPad. Financial burden, subsequently, is lifted to a certain extent, which gives the students more pocket money for personal expenditure. On top of that, a library does not cost too much since there are charitable donation, government funding along with educational grant which contribute to the maintenance fee.

As far as facilities concerned, libraries provide a place that enables intense concentration. It is undeniable that the public policy of libraries requires attendants to keep silent during their stay and everyone who goes to the library oftentimes comply with this rule. Consider a university student who is doing research for his graduate dissertation. He will be able to find all of the materials he needs while being able to focus due to the silent background at library. This will lead to increased productivity together with alertness. Although some people say libraries are outdated nowadays, this simply is not the case as there are a good deal of computers available.

In conclusion, even though technology is developing as an significant rate, public libraries will not be abolish for the foreseeable future.