Nowadays a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think this can have negative effects on children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A problem of modern societies is the declining level of health among children, with conflicting views on whether children-targeted advertisement is the main cause. One possible solution is to ban such marketing, especially on food and beverages.

Critics of this believe that advertising toward children means taking advantage of the strong market segment which is comprised of those children and their parents. If the children are exposed to forms of marketing such as premium toys offer or promotional cartoon characters, they would be more likely to ask their parents to pay for the advertised service or product. The variety of technological devices that are increasingly used by young children also open up commercial opportunities by means of social media. For instance, not only can influencers on YouTube and Instagram generate sales through product endorsement, but promotional messages can strategically be embedded in music videos and Facebook stories as well.

However, there are health potentials as far as the food and beverage industry is concerned. Children decide their food preferences at an early age and when they are exposed to food advertising, there will be long-lasting implications on their diet. Meals such as sugary drinks, processed food, high calories snacks, and fast food are among the commonly advertise food which children should be eating less of. A consequence of them failing to do so can lead to childhood obesity and diabetes, along with heart disease as well as stroke.

From a personal perspective, restricting or stopping food marketing aimed at children would contribute to better health of those children. On top of that, high tax penalties could be imposed on high-fat food products while, at the same time, encouraging the consumption of vegetables along with fruits.

To conclude, banning or limiting food marketing to children would bring the desired result as children would be less tempted into pestering their parents to buy them unhealthy food.