Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both these views and give your opinion?

One of the problems in modern society is the on-going criminal activities, with conflicting views on which one is to blame between sociological instability and the personality traits of the person who commits the crime. One opinion claims that some people are born with a set of psychological characteristics that display the tendency toward criminality.

Advocates of this believe that individuals with anti-social, psychopathic, or narcissistic personality may have the reasoning part of brains responsible for self-control impaired. They may also engage in criminal thrill-seeking behaviors to compensate for low levels of arousal. Besides, hormones related to aggression and violence, such as testosterone and dopamine, have been cited by researchers as biological factors that drive someone to commit a crime.

However, there are aspects with has not been considered. If a person grows up in a dysfunctional family where there are neglect, abuse, and misbehavior, especially by the father figure, he may learn inappropriate responses to situations, leading to offensive behaviors. On top of that, the number of crimes committed out of necessity still remains high

From a personal perspective, social and environmental factors are the ones we need to pay more attention to as they are resolvable. Living in a community with poor housing and low health, as well as socioeconomic disadvantage, citizens are predisposed to social structure pressure. Those pressure either make the citizens feel tempted to run illegal get-rich-quick schemes or influence them to seek substances like alcohol and lose self-control under the effect of such substances.

In conclusion, crimes are committed under a combination of the nature of the criminal himself and the context that he was in. By addressing the current social inequality, the important catalyst, the rate of crime should significantly go down.