Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since digital technology is now replacing their function.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Digital technology has reached the point at which it threatens different spheres, public libraries in particular. This has led to the claim that their maintenance is not economically justifiable. I, however, believe they still have a lot to offer.

Some see no point in funding public libraries since not only does digital technology perform the same function but also ease the life. They say in both cases people access identical information, but time along with variety is in favor of the latter. Firstly, readers do not have to squander their valuable time on the way as well as in aisles seeking for the right book, because everything could be found with a click of a button. More importantly, some libraries may lack particular materials, while their online counterparts never let people down.

However, nobody should overlook the unique atmosphere of public libraries which fosters us to study and gives an opportunity to meet a congenial person. Even a visit to a library evokes our desire to plunge into the world of knowledge .This could be substantiated with an inexplicable aura of the place. On top of that , one can find a congenial friend over there to discuss different topics , exchange valuable information and contribute to reciprocal progress . Therefore, people should not underestimate the role of public libraries.

In conclusion, even though digital technology has already replaced public libraries in some respect, they will still have a room to stay as long as they remain their inimitable atmosphere