Many business meetings and discussions are happening online nowadays.Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that online business meetings and discussions are becoming common. Although this trend can be disadvantages to some extent, I believe that the merits are more significant.

There are some drawbacks which can be stemmed from online meetings. Firstly, people may suffer from technical problems. Online business meetings require a reliable internet connection in order to be successfully conducted. A poor network connection could result in interrupted communications. In some cases, when power cut happens, all meeting’s content may be disappeared. This causes companies great damage. Secondly, some online meetings have very little expose to face-to-face conversations, which makes people encounter difficulties to convey and understand real facial expressions. Consequently, it is hard to conduct arguments and this affects the meeting’s outcome negatively or even losing major contracts.

Nevertheless, online discussions have some positive impacts which overweight these disadvantages. First of all, people work more effectively. In fact, companies can hold the meeting anywhere without gathering all staff at on particular place. Furthermore, they are able to share documents easily and quickly without printing out. Another advantage of online discussions is time and cost efficiency. To be more specific, people can spend time at home to enjoy the meeting comfortably or do other tasks at the same time instead of traveling to the workplace. Also, companies will reduce costs for transportation, hotel accommodation and meals. The money saved could be better spent on more important aspects such as marketing, which brings more potential customers.

In conclusion, despite the drawbacks that online meetings can bring, it still does more good than harm.