In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a trend towards designing different parts of a city for specific purposes, such as residential, commercial, recreational and educational activities. In my opinion, this approach can be viewed positively, despite its drawback.

Planned development can ensure that cities have facilities and buildings that cater for the diverse needs of city dwellers. Land-scarce cities have struggled to keep pace with the demand for housing and commercial development, and the risk is that profit-driven developers invest heavily in lucractive projects regardless of the long-term impacts on cities. This kind of unplanned development can be curbed by appropriate zoning policies, for example, keeping sufficient open spaces in residential communities, and disapproving any industrial development in the proximity of schools. All these regulations can achieve the appropriate use of land for different, and sometimes conflicting, public interests.

Another benefit is that zoning can maintain the characteristic of a city over the course of expansion. Some communities have their own character and architectural heritage, but contemporary constructions differ in styles and heights. The compatibility of historical and modern buildings can be achieved if different sections of a city serve distinct purposes. The city council can designate some business districts where office blocks and shopping malls are built, while mandating the architectural styles of some neighbourhoods. If new shops, houses and places of worship are consistent with older counterparts in aesthetic features, the city can preserve their legacy for future generations.

In conclusion, dividing a city in different functional zones has its advantages, although it may increase the time of travelling to different places.