In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

What are your opinion on this?

Recently, the phenomenon of children working and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, whereas loads of individuals believe that experiences of paid work are essential for children, others are of the opinion that engaging in paid work for pupils is downright unacceptable. In my mind, children should not be deprived the pleasure of acquiring money, while they can benefit from working in terms of psychological and financial aspects.

Obviously, involving in true paid work, leads to children’s promotion with respect to psychology. It contributes to far higher self-esteem in adolescence thanks to earning income independently. Psychologically speaking, the sensation of becoming independent paves the way to taking responsibilities in not distant future.

In addition, through engaging in paid work, youngsters are capable of enhancing their financial mindset. They will realize that earing income is far from easy in the real world and so they shall be prepared to save, or even investigate, a proportion of their salaries, whether minority or majority of their income. Moreover, it is more likely that young children will learn how to manage financial disasters in their future life.

On the other hand, we shouldn’t lose sight of opponents. They elucidate that if children work for money, they would be distracted from school environment. Thus, working experience brings with itself different levels of distraction. The lack of concentration on school and study not merely may ends up potential failures in school’s subjects, but also some students probably ponder about the fact that they would be more successful if they quit school rather than wasting their time on struggling with homework.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I opt to vigorously support the idea that the merits of paid work for children far outweigh its downsides. Who knows some of these experiences exert students to become a prominent craftsman or entrepreneur like Edison?