In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

People today have a tendency to purchase food from other nations instead of their own country. There are some factors leading to this, and method should be taken to promote people to buy food of their home market.

To begin with, there are a variety of reasons for an increasing number of citizens consuming imported food. The first one is that the pace of life is becoming faster than ever, which makes people always want to try something new and different. Therefore, they tend to ignore local food that is too familiar to buy others from other countries in order to enjoy novel experiences. Additionally, it is believed that food produced in more developed countries such as America or the UK often has higher qualities compared to local ones. For example, most young couples in my country would prefer giving each other foreign chocolate rather than domestic one on Valentine’s Day.

However, some measures may be adopted to encourage people to buy food produced locally. Firstly, food companies in a country need to offer consumers sufficient information of their products. This can be done by running advertising campaigns on official media or the Internet to make sure people know about their labels in the market. Secondly, the government should also invest more money in food industry, which allows business to update the process of producing food with high quality for customers. If the local businesses can guarantee the food safety standards, they would gradually appeal a wider customer base.

In conclusion, although overseas food is being popular to individuals currently, there are still several effective ways to simulate everyone to eat domestic one.