In many countries more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally Why people buy imported food What could be done to encourage people to buy local food

In recent years, customers in many countries tend to purchase and consume imported food products instead of domestic food. This trend can be ascribed to numerous reasons and it might be addressed by some practical ways performed by the government and local authorities to motivate people to buy local food.

On the one hand, it is understandable why people prefer imported nourishment rather than food produced in their country. First and foremost, customers think foreign food by far has better quality than local food so they are willing to spend a large amount of money on buying imported food. For instance, in India, consumers show significant interest in imported food as they hold the belief that nourishment with the foreign tag is better even if it costs them a great deal. Another significant reason is that in many domestic companies, they usually add some chemical preservatives as well as additives which may be detrimental to people’s health. This could result in the fact that they want to prolong time preserving food and local authorities do not impose any strict laws on harmful ingredients added to food in factories.

However, measures must be taken by the government and local authorities to encourage consumers to buy domestic food. The first solution would be the government should prioritize expenditure on organizing programs or campaigns in order to raise citizens’ awareness about the necessity of purchasing local food. Furthermore, the government and local authorities must punish severely companies using preservatives which affect negatively on people health and well-being. In addition, companies need to pay more attention to not only products quality but also prices to enhance competitive advantages compared to charges of foreign firms.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for why imported food is amore favored than local food and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.