In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Food products from foreign countries have gained greater popularity among consumers than domestic ones. There are several underlying reasons for such a preference; and some initiatives could be taken to promote consumers’ demand for local food.

An increasing number of people tend to purchasing food imports owing to their propensity for commodities’ foreign origin as well as their concern for quality of local food. First, in many countries such as Vietnam, consumers show significant interest in imported goods as they hold the belief that anything with a foreign tag is better. Second, consumers are growing impatient with the deterioration in food hygiene and safety. In fact, spoiled ingredients are still used and distributed illegally in the market without any strict supervision, which creates a common sense of distrust and prejudice against locally produced food.

The government could play an essential part in boosting the consumption of domestic commodities through some practical measures. To begin with, propagation campaigns about the need for public endorsement for indigenous food on the media are imperative. This would help consumers have an unbiased view on products made by local companies. Also of tremendous importance is law enforcement against the abuse of inedible ingredients such as spoiled meat or vegetables. Undoubtedly, if the production of local food is carried out under the state’s stricter regulations, purchasing power for domestically produced food will be considerably enhanced.

In conclusion, the causes for consumers’ change of preference for food are varied; and the government could do a lot in the endeavor to motivate them to buy local products.