In many countries, not enough students study science subjects. What are the causes? What will be the effect on society?

In recent years, the trend of many students preferring to study social courses such as literature than science courses like chemistry has risen significantly. From my perspective, this phenomenon can be attributed to some reasons, and numerous drawbacks may grow in the community if this aspect continues for a long-time period.

There are two main reasons why the proportion of students not chosen to study science subjects increases gradually. First and foremost, science subjects require a mass of formulas, theories, and parameters, along with the need to use logical thinking, consistency in explanation, and acquire all the knowledge learned before to solve science problems accurately. However, not all students can utilize these skills proficiency, as well as memorize the formula and statistics in a short time. Besides, science subjects take a lot of time to learn and apprehend. Compare this with social courses that require practicality and not spending too much time studying. Therefore, the students are more interested in taking comparatively easier subjects. Furthermore, students usually have higher grades in social subjects than the science ones in examinations. To illustrate, according to the parameters in the 2022’s National High School Graduation Examination enumerated by the Ministry of Education and Training of Vietnam, the proportion of candidates who scored greater than or equal to 8 points in social courses such as literature, history is 70%, double than the figure in science.

From my point of view, the phenomenon of the declining number of students studying science courses can bring adverse effects on society. Initially, the unemployment rate in branches concerned with science subjects such as health, technology, and economics may rise rapidly. Hence, this circumstance could lead to prolonged disequilibrium in the labor market. Furthermore, science research may be diminished because of the lack of researchers and fellows. Thus, this affects the quality of social life. For instance, the technology sector may regress because of the shortage of manpower, which causes challenges to humans to produce a contemporary product with better functions than the present.

In summary, science subjects play a crucial role in the growth of every nation. I believe that students should change their ways of learning science subjects and enhance their knowledge by having a passion for these courses. With more students studying science courses, more employees in the science industry and economics may grow gradually.