Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion

From the past to the present, history has played a crucial role in spiritual and material values in every nation. While it is mentioned that studying history is considered insufficient and insignificant, others argue that history helps people to understand how prehistoric people something could do that today’s world could barely accomplish, even with contemporary technology and equipment. This essay will discuss both aspects of this debate and outline my opinion.

On the one hand, the idea of underestimating history and admitting that the experience in the past is not useful in the present could be explained by some reasons. Initially, the method of learning history was obsolete and not attractive to learners to receive the history knowledge. To illustrate, in some schools in Vietnam, the ways of teaching history are just memorizing the event in the past and a huge capacity of learning to achieve high scores in the examination. Additionally, the classes were conducted in a teacher-centered way that students passively listened and jotted down whatever the teacher said without group discussion and presentation to enhance students’ logical thinking about this subject. Consequently, learners lose their motivation and interest in this history, which leads to misunderstanding the essence of history in society. Furthermore, because corporations need candidates competent in some science-related skills such as information technology or data analysis to help companies maximize business profits and be more developed, individuals proficient in only history may not have a well-paid job.

On the other hand, many individuals and I believe that learning history helps people to figure out the insights of various events in the past to apply the precious lessons in the past to modern life. First, grasping the nation’s chronicle may enhance the patriotism and gratitude in everyone in the present. For instance, by knowing and studying how elder generations fought to protect their country, even with a heroic sacrifice, Vietnamese in all age groups appreciate the value of peace and liberty they enjoy today. Thus, improving the solidarity in the community. Besides, the Vietnamese built a variety of mausoleums to show their respect for the dedication and efforts of their heroes for secured the independence of the country. Subsequently, history acquisitions could guide people for avoiding mistakes from the past. Hence, this experience may help them to have solutions to tackle issues which is the same as in the past in contemporary life.

In summary, history is the course that vital in people’s life. Although there are some issues in the ways of learning and plans in studying methods, I conclude that individuals should broaden their knowledge of history to understand the traditions of their country and make a well-educated, patriotic, grateful people.