Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are some people believe that history has limited relevance to temporary people, while others concur with the view that past events can foster people's comprehension of the present. This essay will elaborate on both viewpoints and explain why the role of history is of great importance.

On the one hand, the emergency of history in the stream of human's civilization is obscure. While other realms such as mathematics marks its independent account for the flourishment of humans, history as a domain often engulfs other subjects such as archeology, architecture, and literature, rendering the contribution of history less significant than it should be. Additionally, the study of history is not lucrative, which impedes attendance of people to the field. This makes the public less aware of achievement in the study of past events. People thereby being unable to notice the position of history in the success of humanity in many aspects of life.

On the other hand, history has benefited society in many dimensions. The first merit could be witnessed in agriculture. It is obvious that the experience of crop cultivation is accumulated since the dawn of men's civilization. Without the valuable lessons of ancestors, humans may be unable to either effectively raise livestock or maintain soil fertility, which spell trouble for the survival of humanity. Furthermore, learning history acts as a precaution ensuring safety of humans. One of foremost application of history is the research of climate change relied on records from the past. The collected data enables present scientists to weigh against the negative implications of the weather and find more practical resolutions for unexpected catastropic events in years to come.

In sum, history plays an important role in the flourishment of humans in general. Even though its position is eclipsed by other subjects and restricted awareness of people, historical affects could be seen in other fields.