Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are some people believe that history has limited relevance to temporary people, while other concur with the view that past events can foster people's comprehension of the present. This essay will elaborate on both viewpoints and explain why the role of history is of great importance.

On the one hand, the contribution of history to the development of humanity seems vague. While other realms such as mathematics, physics and technology mark their account to the flourishment of human nowadays, the position of history in human civilisation can not be recognized easily by the public. This stems from the fact that history as a domain often appear within other subjects as archeology, architecture, literature, making the emergence of history less significant than it should be. Additionally, the study of history is not lucrative, restricting the attendance of people to the field. This renders the mass less aware of achievement in the study of past events in the world, in which monetary values are prioritized. People thereby being unable to notice the position of history in the success of humanity in many aspects of life.

On the other hand, history has benefited society in many dimensions. The first merit of history could be witnessed in agriculture. It is believed that the experience in cultivation of crops are accumulated throughout the existence of humankind. Without valuable lessons of ancestors from history, humans may be unable to effectively domesticate wild animals or fertilize their land. The lack of knowledge from the past for agrarian activities may spell the end for the survival of humanity. Furthermore, learning history can pave the way for the development of humans in the future. There are myriads of applications are being researched based on the past events or wisdom, one of which is the research of climate change relied on the record from the past. The past figures enable today's scientists to weigh against implications of the climate and find more practical resolutions for the phenomenon.

In sum, history plays an important role in the flourishment of humans in general. Even though it's position is eclipsed by other subjects and restricted awareness of people, historical affects could be seen in other fields.