In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials, such as paper, glass, and cans.

What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

Despite the general knowledge and benefits regarding recycling, countless of individuals still refuse to recycle domestic wastes in an appropriate manner, namely paper, glass and cans. This trend has resulted in a multitude of controversies recently. This essay will thoroughly assess the causes and explore possible solutions to alleviate this ongoing problem.

The primary culprits for this trend could be blamed on the lack of education and governmental promotion on recycling. Although environmental education is provided at a young age, as people grow up, especially in Asian countries, numerous individuals tend to direct their focus towards the core subjects and forsake social concerns regarding the environment. Consequently, environmental conservations and recycling are of little importance and are not given sufficient attention. As a result, after becoming mature citizens, they do not completely understand the importance of recycling nor the appropriate methods to recycle. In addition to the absence of environmental awareness, several governments lack the practical methods and encouragement to promote a clean environment. Taking Canada as an example, the municipal governments have the responsibility to provide recycling bin along with regular trash bin to each house. To elaborate, the recycling bins’ lids often have recycling indicators so that everyone can recognize, sort and dispose of the garbage accordingly. However, in comparison to Canada, Vietnam, a developing country, does not utilise this method. Instead, each Vietnamese household is provided with only one garbage bin for all kinds of waste; with this method, it is highly unlikely that citizens will go out of their own way to purchase another bin just for the purpose of recycling.

Although the existing problem has proven to be detrimental, there remains a wide-range of approaches to eliminate the issue at hand. By offering environmental education in social classes throughout grade school, students will be able to integrate with environmentally friendly mindsets and acquire the proper methods to classify and recycle waste. Subsequently, these individuals would have gained the knowledge of recycling and understand its impacts on the environment. Apart from this solution, the government can also play a notable role in supplying the suitable equipment for residents to participate in recycling. Imitating the method of Western nations, the authority can provide 2 garbage bins, with one solely used for recycling, to each household. As a result, when provided with the right equipment, there will be a higher chance that each household member will dispose of the garbage systematically, since there is no inconvenience in the process of trash disposal.

To recapitulate briefly, the controversial issue relating to the lack of waste recycling in some countries has raised a significant amount of concerns. Although the absence of recycling has been originating from the improper education and insufficient governmental promotion, suitable education in combination with governmental implementation can be plausible approaches to address the presented issue.