In many countries, people have children later in life than in the past. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? What is the cause of this?

Globally, the issue of whether it is good to have babies later in life has been a topic of discussion for many years. Some people believe that it is beneficial to give birth when young people are older enough to be responsible, while others argue that it may be risky to have a baby when the mothers are older. This essay will compare the benefits and drawbacks and discuss the main reason for the phenomenon.

There are various advantages of having children later in life when people are mentally and financially ready. Without sufficient money and a sense of responsibility, young people cannot raise and educate children. In countries like India, for example, it is not uncommon to see indigent pregnant underages who are not able to live a decent life, let alone support the family. In this case, having children when people are mature with enough savings would be a better way.

Conversely, when it comes to the disadvantages, the higher risks of delivering babies and the lower possibility of pregnancy when parents are older cannot be ignored. To be more specific, it is significantly difficult for women over 35 to have a baby and give birth safely based on medical evidence. For instance, couples in China tend to have babies before 30 because it is easier and safer for the mothers considering their health condition. Thus, people need to take those things into consideration when they decide to have children later.

This essay has discussed whether it is rewarding to have children later in life because people can get ready for parents’ role, or it is harmful due to the risks pregnant women will undergo. On balance, this essay believes that advantages are stronger since irresponsible parents will pose a detrimental impact on their children. The primary reason for this later pregnant phenomenon is the increasing financial burden on parents. All over the world, parents and children will be much happier and healthier if governments can more family supports.