In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than the traditional clothing. Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, the locals in many countries wear suits and jeans as their daily clothes even rather than their own countries’ costumes. Although some traditionalists judge this trend as a negative pattern, the benefits it brings to nations should not be unjustifiable.

On the one hand, Western cloth acts as a deterrent for national culture and domestic economy. First, since local people are reliant on modern clothes both at work and in daily life, their unique traditional ones are likely to be undervalued. In reality, although Aodai is one of Vietnamese tangible cultures, hardly can people, even the locals can easily see Vietnamese women wearing Aodai on the street, excepts for some required by their career characteristics such as teachers or restaurant receptions. Second, taxes imposed on foreign clothes benefit the export countries at the expense of the import ones. Moreover, since apparel industry accounts for large economic proportion, this exotic trend can drive a nation to be less affluent.

On the other hand, Western cloth import also has its own advantages in term of variety of choices and honors for traditional costumes. First, cloth corporations oversea contribute to competitive apparel market where consumers can choose their favorite with lowest cost. In practice, suits and jeans do not require either hand washing or warm water like silk or feather material fabric; it is more economical and less time-consuming. Finally, if people wear traditional clothes daily, it tends to become usual in the eyes of foreigners so that Western cloth appears as a substitute helping a to enhance values of its costume. For example, now that the Japanese white-collar workers dress suits and shirts for business while they just wear Kimonos in some special occasions, Kimonos are well-known around the world and become country’s symbol .

In conclusion, while Western clothes are believed to cause harm to nations, the opposite side appears to be more persuasive, which means in terms of either culture or economy, wearing Western clothes allows both the nations and the locals to have more benefits by giving them wider ranges of choices and values.