In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses, for example, food and drink industries. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The demand for cans, bottles and other plastic-based containers has been growing exponentially in every corner of the world in recent years in light of convenience and mobility. While some contend that using plastic-wrapped products is advantageous, it is my firm conviction that the downsides surpass the benefits.

To begin with, using plastic-packed merchandise might bring about a plethora of benefits to customers and enterprises. Indeed, taking advantage of plastic products is likely to aid food and drink enterprises to steer clear of adding up manufacturing costs. This might result in an increase in products prices, which, in turn, will contribute to soaring year-on-year revenue for companies. Additionally, plastic-based products also help consumers to utilise used food cans and beverage bottles as a means of tree planting. Not only does this cultivation method provide customers with a variety of fresh vegetables, but also assist them not to squander money on supermarkets or restaurants.

Nonetheless, some would argue that products wrapped by plastics will trigger a host of unanticipated problems. One of the most alarming issues requiring a silver bullet to address is water contamination. This is because toxic chemical compounds leaking from landfill sites might deteriorate groundwater supplies, which is likely to have detrimental effects on humans’ health such as water-borne and cancer-related diseases. Another irrefutable problem caused by overdependence on plastic products is to exacerbate the number of massive deaths of several marine animals. Take sea turtles as a prime example, the explosive growth in the number of sea turtle deaths caused by being trapped in cans, nylons, and beverage bottles is creeping up gradually, which might lead to the unbalance of sea creatures.

In conclusion, although using products packed by plastic materials might bring about several inevitable benefits to food and beverage enterprises and consumers, I am of the opinion that the demerits exceed the merits.