In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

It is true that in many parts of the world, the number of senior citizens is on the rise. From my perspective, this demographic shift would bring about some benefits, but its drawbacks could be far higher.

First of all, there are a wide range of merits when human beings live longer. One possible advantage is the invaluable lessons that oldies can pass on to their descendants. To be more specific, older people have accumulated a hoard of knowledge and experience through their lives, so they could give precious advices about not only personal but also professional matters to the younger generations. The youngsters accordingly could emulate their forefathers’ ways to succeed and avoid a dead-end. What is more, the aged population might make great contribution to the community by engaging in voluntary work. For example, they could do unpaid activities such as teaching in the orphanage or helping the disabled and the homeless. The social participation would in turn boost their well-being, which will ease the burden on state welfare.

However, as people grow older, the whole society would be faced with a multitude of problems. The first issue would be increased demands for medical and social care, which will put a strain on the public funds. In other words, a rise in money allocated to the aged means a fall in the sum channeled into other key sectors namely education, economy and transportation. Another downside of longer life expectancy is that the years retirees receive pension surpass the years they are active in the workforce. There is no denying that the increasing number of old age pensioners, together with the dwindling of labor force, will potentially place greater pressure on the working-age population in terms of tax income. It should also be noted that as people reach pensionable age, their spending on consumer goods will be reduced, leading to the shrinking of the economic sector.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, the advantages of increasing longevity and ageing population are still overshadowed by the disadvantages. I would therefore claim that this is a negative development for both individuals and societies.