In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

It is undeniable that the gradually ageing population has become among major issues facing both civilised and low-income developing countries for years. Personally, I contend that this phenomenon will have positive impacts on society in preference to the opposite side.

To begin with, an increase in the number of older people might trigger several unanticipated problems. One of the most irrefutable issues is the lack of labour workforce. Take Japan as a prime example, the plummeting employers derived from a soaring retirement rate required the government to employ foreign white-collar workers from less affluent countries to make up for the number of retired people, resulting in squandering money. Additionally, the gradual increase in the number of elderly people might exert severe pressure on the national budget. This is explained by a large amount of state budget will be allocated on pension fees and first aids, which might contribute to a deficit in the national budget.

Despite the described downsides above, there is a plethora of outstanding benefits that the ageing population could bring about to society. Indeed, the gradual jump in the number of older people might offer precious opportunities for graduates. In fact, soaring retired employers resulting from increasing elderly people is likely to create a host of vacancies for tertiary graduates, which, in turn, might alleviate the unemployment rate. In tandem with this, construction companies could take advantage of jumping older people. This is because of the high demand for sheltered accommodation to accommodate a large number of pensioners, resulting in increased profits for those enterprises.

In conclusion, although there are several positive impacts of the ageing population that could not be overlooked, it is my firm conviction that the advantages outweigh its drawbacks.