Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of technological advances and printing industry, books and television along with computer games are increasing its prevalence among children to immerse themselves in. While others accept that reading stories from a book is more beneficial in preference to watching TV or playing computer games, I suppose that watching TV and computer-based games are as vital as reading stories.

On the one hand, reading stories tends to bring about a plethora of benefits to a young child. Firstly, reading stories might maximize children’s imagination, resulting in the formation of critical thinking later. Take a genius child as a prime example, the early exposure to storytelling might facilitate children to remain their brain active to take in story’s sequence, which, in turn, unintentionally consolidates a child’s ability to think critically. Furthermore, what children could benefit from reading stories is to boost their lexical range. This is because a story is inclined to contain an array of new vocabularies that might assist young readers to enhance their vocabulary on a wide range of topics.

On the other hand, others and I are also convinced by the statement that computer-based games and television shows also play an essential role in stress release and improving children’s comprehension skills, respectively. Concerning playing computer games, academic pressure from school might put children at high risks of depression, which could be addressed partly by playing computer games under an allowed amount of time. In tandem with this, watching television is also believed to help children sharpen their comprehension skills. Vietnamese children in affluent metropolitan areas, for instance, could get access to English movies since they were a child. Consequently, those children could take in a real conversation in English with a foreigner without any hurdles.

In conclusion, although some people might assert that reading stories is more beneficial than TV and computer games, it is my firm conviction that children should take advantage of both reading books and computer-based games.