The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the advantages?

With the advent of technological advances and the Internet, internet-based conversations through social media have been increasing its prevalence in society, which leads to the substitution of face-to-face interactions. From my perspective, the benefits of this trend far surpass the downsides.

To begin with, harnessing online platforms in daily conversations might bring about a plethora of advantages to users. First and foremost, one of the most obvious benefits is to help users steer clear of squandering time on commuting. This is because users can keep in touch with each other through Facebook, Twitter and Whatsapp without heading out outside, which, in turn, saves a large amount of time for people. Furthermore, what online conversations might benefit the public is to permit users to connect with other distantly. Take overseas students as a prime example, online platforms have entitled those students to maintain their relationship with their bosom buddies and relatives from a thousand miles, which minimizes the prospects of homesick.

Nonetheless, online conversations might trigger some unanticipated problems. Firstly, it is mighty that distant conversations through online platforms could reduce the efficiency of the conversations. This is because an unstable internet connection is likely to occur at times, which could disrupt the conversations and result in conversation’s effectiveness. In tandem with this, body languages might be faded away as time goes by if people remain social media interactions. For instance, the importance of hand gestures might be downplayed by an array of people since online social media users could see other faces solely. As a result, people might see it is unnecessary to take advantage of body languages when it comes to an online conversation.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that conversations through social media are gaining its prevalance in modern society in light of the breakthroughs in cutting-edge devices and the Internet. Although the drawbacks of this tendency might not be overlooked, it is my firm conviction that the plus points surpass its minus ones.